Slow Food Charleston hosts an annual awards ceremony to celebrate the leaders of the Slow Food movement in the Charleston community and honor our annual Legend award recipient.

The Snail Awards

Slow Food Charleston will be hosting its third annual awards ceremony celebrating the leaders of the Slow Food movement in the Charleston community and honoring our 2018 Legend.

Details about the event will be posted in early 2018.

The Legend

Our award for one who displays true vision in helping shape the Slow Food community of Charleston and the surrounding areas.

2018 Recipient: Coming soon.

2017 Recipient: Ms. Nathalie Dupree
2016 Recipient: Chef Mike Lata

The Activist

These nominees act as the voice for the Slow Food movement – good, clean, fair food that supports diversity, issues of food justice, and preserving lowcountry cultures and traditions.

2018 Nominees: Coming soon.

2017 Recipients: Lindsay Barrow and Kate Dewitt of Lowcountry Street Grocery.
2016 Recipient: Charleston County Green Waste Program

The Provider

These nominees produce or provide food at the most basic level that is largely unmanipulated by process – innovating in the way that they sustainably and ethically produce real food for both chefs and consumers.

2018 Nominees: Coming soon.

2017 Recipients: Mark and Kerry Marhefka of Abundant Seafood.
2016 Recipient: Celeste Albers of Green Grocer Farm

The Artist

These nominees use locally, ethically, and sustainably sourced ingredients to create exceptional food and beverages that champion Slow Food ideals while driving innovation and education in the community.  Awards to be given separately for innovators in food and in beverage.

2018 Nominees: Coming soon.

2017 Recipient (Food): Chris Stewart of The Glass Onion.
2017 Recipient (Beverage): Jaime Tenny and David Merritt of Coast Brewing Co.
2016 Recipient (Food): Craig Deihl of AMS and Cypress
2016 Recipient (Beverage): High Wire Distilling

The Place

These businesses exhibit Slow Food values in all aspects of their work—from sustainability and quality to community involvement and giving back.

2018 Nominees: Coming soon.

2017 Recipient: Middleton Place.
2016 Recipient: Grow Food Carolina

The Snailblazer

Publicly nominated, privately selected individual who personifies Slow Food’s mission – making strides in their own field to positively impact the Charleston community.

2018 Nominees: Coming soon.

2017 Recipient: Spade & Clover Gardens
2016 Recipient: Germaine Jenkins of Fresh Future Farm